Elegant Geisha – Finished!

2015-09-27 17.50.46Yay! It’s finished and framed! I can’t get over how vibrant the color combinations are!

2015-09-26 14.41.36Yesterday, I washed the fabric and pressed it afterwards. I used a portable steamer as it was drying to smooth out the creases and wrinkles. I wasn’t able to get the creases from when I opened the package out completely, but they’re pretty faint and almost unnoticeable.

2015-09-27 17.26.49As mentioned in my last post, here is a close-up of some of the crazy details in the pattern. I love the green backstitches for the flower stems. The French knots and lazy daisies were fun to make once I got a hang of them though they hurt my fingers a bit. The white French knots are a lovely detail in my opinion.

I missed some backstitches for my last post and wondered why the upper part of the kimono looked a little bare. Turns out the gold metallic was for A LOT of details and I missed the vertical brown backstitch next to the blue French knots (as shown above).

When I began working with the gold metallic (Glisten Gloss?) thread, I was reminded of how much I hated working with it when first starting out with the Past, Present, Forever pattern. I would have to hold the threads taut in the back while pulling the needle through the front and vice versa to prevent the threads from twisting up and creating knots.

2015-09-27 17.29.06Here’s more of the lazy daisies for the leaves and the gold metallic thread.

The bullion knots were a nightmare! They consisted of two white threads and two gold metallic threads. I can’t count how many times the threads came out of the needle and how many times the threads got knotted. I think the finished knots look a little messy but I felt a huge wave of accomplishment after that part was complete :D.

20 thoughts on “Elegant Geisha – Finished!

  1. Gorgeous! well worth all of the effort with the bullion knots – the ones at the side of her head look great. I don’t usually like a lot of back-stitching and extra details after a cross stitch project but I have to admit they really do set off a piece. Do you have your next project lined up?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree about what you said about the back-stitches and the extra details. They are quite tedious but they do add more life to the projects. πŸ™‚

      I want to start another project from Dimensions Needlecrafts, haha, but I still have a few WIPs to work on. I’m currently cycling through three projects: the Past, Present, Future piece; a gift (can’t reveal what it is yet in case the person it’s for finds my blog); and an original piece. I want to finish the Past, Present, Future piece the most, but it’s the one I get bored/peeved with when stitching.

      Like

  2. A beautiful embroidery. I have never heard of anyone who has created bullions with metallic and normal threads. It must have been a nightmare, so Congratulations on a job very well done.
    Have you heard of ‘damp stretching’ your finished work before framing? If not, here is an excellent link to a reputable site with photos and explanations.
    http://www.needlenthread.com/2012/07/damp-stretching-blocking-embroidery.html

    Lastly, thank you for liking my mouse and your visit.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Aw, thank you for your kind words and the link!

      I appreciate you including the tip πŸ™‚
      Looks like it’ll help with smoothing out the fabric for the future kits I get to.

      Like

      1. Oh thanks though it might take some time. It takes me a long time to finish a project. Which is probably why I don’t do really big ones, but one day I would like to. ☺️

        Like

Leave a Reply

